LED output issue - how to fix?
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor bascurtiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    206

    Default LED output issue - how to fix?

    I'm trying to map the LED output of the original VCI-400 EGE DJ TechTools mapping, correctly:
    https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/911

    Yes, it's old, but therefor I used the oldest Traktor I own, Traktor 2.6.7.
    And yes, I'm using v1 Firmware, where it's made for.

    Nevertheless, out-of-the-box this mapping contains a bug(?)
    I've tried the other mappings for the VCI-400 EGE on maps.djtechtools.com too, but they all behave the same.

    LEDs I want to have 'ON' when pushed, but 'OFF' when other button is pushed (so it becomes a switch).

    For example:
    Push top left button & its LED goes 'ON'.
    Push bottom left button & top LED goes 'OFF' & bottom LED goes 'ON' (and viceversa).
    This works for left buttons.

    But when top left button is selected, and I want the same behavior on the right buttons, it goes wrong;
    The LEDs simply stay 'ON', on the right.

    See video:



    When left bottom LED is 'ON'/selected, the right LEDs do behave as they should.

    What is going wrong here?

    IF LEFT top button = M5-0 is active....
    RIGHT top button = M5-0
    RIGHT bottom button = M5-1
    = wrong

    IF LEFT bottom button = M5-2 is active...
    RIGHT top button = M5-2;
    RIGHT bottom button = M5-3;
    = OK

    My head explodes.
    How to solve this?




    Attached the MIDI values in a TSI mapping:
    DJTT_VCI-400_TSI_v1.1.2-Modifier#5-only.tsi
    Last edited by bascurtiz; 06-08-2019 at 12:51 PM.
    Current DJ Gear: Kontrol S8 | Denon DN-SC2000 | V-Moda XS / Logitech Z5500
    Past:
    Numark 4TRAK / Kontrol X1 + Z1 + F1 / Novation Twitch / Denon MC3000
    Reloop Jockey 3 Remix / M-Audio Xponent / V-Moda Crossfade LP

  2. #2
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bascurtiz View Post
    I'm trying to map the LED output of the original VCI-400 EGE DJ TechTools mapping, correctly:
    https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/911

    Yes, it's old, but therefor I used the oldest Traktor I own, Traktor 2.6.7.
    And yes, I'm using v1 Firmware, where it's made for.

    Nevertheless, out-of-the-box this mapping contains a bug(?)
    I've tried the other mappings for the VCI-400 EGE on maps.djtechtools.com too, but they all behave the same.

    LEDs I want to have 'ON' when pushed, but 'OFF' when other button is pushed (so it becomes a switch).

    For example:
    Push top left button & its LED goes 'ON'.
    Push bottom left button & top LED goes 'OFF' & bottom LED goes 'ON' (and viceversa).
    This works for left buttons.

    But when top left button is selected, and I want the same behavior on the right buttons, it goes wrong;
    The LEDs simply stay 'ON', on the right.

    See video:



    When left bottom LED is 'ON'/selected, the right LEDs do behave as they should.

    What is going wrong here?

    IF LEFT top button = M5-0 is active....
    RIGHT top button = M5-0
    RIGHT bottom button = M5-1
    = wrong

    IF LEFT bottom button = M5-2 is active...
    RIGHT top button = M5-2;
    RIGHT bottom button = M5-3;
    = OK

    My head explodes.
    How to solve this?




    Attached the MIDI values in a TSI mapping:
    DJTT_VCI-400_TSI_v1.1.2-Modifier#5-only.tsi
    Hey Bas,
    I am not familiar with original mappings for VCI-400 EGE but we should be able to sort this out.

    I looked into your TSI and it looks like you are using one modifier for four buttons. Are you trying to create four banks of controls or do you want two banks on the left which are independend from second two banks that are on the right side upper-corner?

    Cheers,

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor bascurtiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewe View Post
    Hey Bas,
    I am not familiar with original mappings for VCI-400 EGE but we should be able to sort this out.

    I looked into your TSI and it looks like you are using one modifier for four buttons. Are you trying to create four banks of controls or do you want two banks on the left which are independend from second two banks that are on the right side upper-corner?

    Cheers,
    I found the issue:
    Like you had your question-mark too... 1 modifier for 4 buttons....
    That's how it originally is mapped by DJTechtools.

    And this is where it goes wrong.

    I've looked into Flashflooder's 2.5 mapping (though made for Firmware v2) and he's using 2 modifiers to make it work correctly: https://maps.djtechtools.com/mappings/166/

    I've now deleted the original mappings for these buttons and replaced them with the ones in Flasflooder's, and now it works, see video:


    Attached the working TSI mapping.
    VCI-400SE_FF_v2.6-FX-LoopDecks only.tsi

    That prolly does need a whole lot of remapping functionality-wise (reverting the 4 encoders/buttons as they are shown natively in Traktor + FX-settings wise) but atleast we got this tackled.
    Current DJ Gear: Kontrol S8 | Denon DN-SC2000 | V-Moda XS / Logitech Z5500
    Past:
    Numark 4TRAK / Kontrol X1 + Z1 + F1 / Novation Twitch / Denon MC3000
    Reloop Jockey 3 Remix / M-Audio Xponent / V-Moda Crossfade LP

  4. #4
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,352

    Default

    Glad to hear that the issues with modifiers are solved! Let me know if you need any further assistance with this mapping.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •