Modding my Allen & Heath XONE 4D
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Modding my Allen & Heath XONE 4D

Hi.

I want to MOD my 4D with more LED buttons and arcade buttons to trigger stuff.

Im very new to electronics and am scared if i open up my £1,300 mixer and start cutting holes in it and re-wiring it i could be partaking in a very expensive experiment of which i dont know the outcome.

Im based in the UK. Are there any bods about that someone could direct me to to help?

Allen & Heath forums aren't too active so i thought this would be a good place to start.

Thanks

Having just gotten a 4D I can't express how much I would cringe if you started cutting into it...

Why not simply add more controllers with buttons (such as a Midifighters) and/or LEDs, which you could then mod and not risk destroying your 4D if it goes wrong? That's what I've got my Akai MPD-18 for, which I'm going to open up in the spring and have a play with
    MacBook, Vestax VCI-300 with Serato Itch
    www.djlantau.com | www.youtube.com/djlantau | www.soundcloud.com/djlantau

Sorry but there is now way I would be touching my Xone 4D, the thought of damaging £1400 worth of gear is a no no :-)

on top of that the missus has bought me a 1D for xmas so I definately don't need extra buttons.

I also wouldn't recommend you to mod your xone. Try with smaller and cheaper gear first, or try to make a controller yourself (there are a lot of threads about that here).

And good luck with any of your future projects.

going to have to join the groups opinion on avoiding the mod to the 4d.

a great way to add some functionality to your set up, and get your modding fix is to build your own custom controller.

http://www.halemicro.com/Products/Pr...FShGagodfRYOKg

Tech Wizard

How about you just give me your 4D before you break it, I'll kick you in the nuts, and we'll call it good!
    13.3" Macbook Aluminum
    Novation Nio Audio Interface
    Novation Remote SL Zero
    M-Audio X-Session Pro
    Traktor Duo