Affordable Setup for Serato
    Tech Convert

Default Affordable Setup for Serato

Hi, I'm just getting into DJing, coming from producing/engineering side of music. I've been learning from a DJ in my area, learning/researching online, and I think it's time to get some gears for my setup. I'm hoping to do this professionally in the long run, but at the same time, somewhat limited in budget (around $1000) as I'm just starting out.

I've tried VDJ, Traktor, and Serato, and decided to go for SSL or Itch due to their user-friendliness. But on the other side, they seem to have the least amount of options available for the setup (especially affordable ones). I'm considering either buying Xone Dx for all-in-one solution, or getting a SSL setup with SL1 (which I can get for $300 used), and was wondering if anyone had suggestions for affordable setup for SSL.

I'll be mainly doing Top40/EDM, planning on not using any vinyl/cds as sources for music - so it seemed somewhat pointless/expensive to get CDJs.

I've seen DDM 4000 as good affordable mixer, maybe used with Denon DN-SC2000.
    Also I'm wondering if it's possible to use SL1 + something like VCI 100 MK2 at all.

I'd really appreciate anyone's input,

If you're going down the Serato route I'd get an all in one solution like the VCI-300. And if the VCI-300 is where you head, I'd suggest you turn around, have a think, then buy a Traktor Kontrol S4. So much more to play with and all included in the price (software, hardware, soundcard).
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

If your set on Serato you could get that $300 SL1 and set of used Technics for $500, that gives you $200 left to get a mixer and if your patient you could probably find decks, mixer and coffin for the left over $700.