How many of you digital DJs never learned to use CDJs or TTs and can't beatmatch?

View Poll Results: Did you learn to beatmatch on CDJs and or TTs and could you DJ a set with them alone?

Voters
146. You may not vote on this poll
  • I have limited to no experience with beatmatching on CDJs/TTs

57 39.04%
  • I am comfortable DJing and beatmatching with CDJs/TTs alone

89 60.96%
Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast

Default How many of you digital DJs never learned to use CDJs or TTs and can't beatmatch?

This came up in another thread and I am not looking for a thread discussing why beatmatching is a waste of time and how you can do much more with your mixing by letting software take care of it. We have all heard it before and if we're on here we use controllers and we get it. I am simply wondering with the recent rise in shear number of digital DJing programs and controllers that have popped up in the past year alone, let alone the past two, how it has affected the way DJs learn.

I am looking to get an honest number of how many digital DJs couldn't DJ a set with CDJs or vinyl because they lack the experience. BE HONEST please.

Tech Mentor

I learned on turntables and can beatmatch. However, can I dj a set with cds/vinyl in a noisy club with mental amounts of bass and non-existant lighting while being half drunk out of my mind? no.

Quote Originally Posted by n2hf1st View Post
    I learned on turntables and can beatmatch. However, can I dj a set with cds/vinyl in a noisy club with mental amounts of bass and non-existant lighting while being half drunk out of my mind? no.
    That's a very fair and honest assessment.

I'l save my opinion on the subject for later since I don't want to steer this thread off course yet (someone will probably beat me to it).

I can't beat match to save my life. I've had a go with traktor and my vci but it didn't go well I don't play out alot though so i get to avoid the potential abuse that comes with using the snyc button.