Trying to decide on setup, VDJ + DVS or Traktor/Midi controller
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Trying to decide on setup, VDJ + DVS or Traktor/Midi controller

I'm new to the DJ scene, but I'm getting into it and am motivated to keep improving. Eventually I want to work at some nice venues, but to start I am aiming at the bars in my college area. I'm into mainstream house and hip hop.

I'm at somewhat of a dilemma, I currently have traktor pro, VDJ v6, and a Hercules RMX. I've been mixing on traktor purely with the RMX. However, I notice most of the well known DJs playing mainstream tracks that I've seen on youtube are using digital vinyl software, primarily SSL. They often do scratch mixes, which I can't really do with my RMX, but it would be a stretch money wise for me to buy an SL1 at the moment. I'm trying to decide, would it be worth it for me to invest in some turntables and buy the timecode vinyls for VDJ, or might I just as well upgrade to a nicer midi controller like the VCI 100 and stick with traktor pro?

Thanks

Up to you mate but my vote would be to go down the Traktor and VCI road.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

since you said "SCRATCH"

go get some second hand technics - they will last you a long time and it will be worth it

these days second hand technics are cheap and u can find plenty
    Setup:

Traktor Pro 2 / S2 MK2 / X1 MK2 / Audio6 / Pioneer HDJ2000 / Westone UM3X / rMBP 13 inch 2014 (2.8 GHz) / Focal Alpha 50

Tech Mentor

It all depends on how deep you want to go on the scratching route...

If you just want to put a scratch here and there the vci should be enough.