DO you let TP auto grid your tunes?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Tech Guru ponyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, home of the Pony.
    Posts
    509

    Default DO you let TP auto grid your tunes?

    I have yet to really play a set with Traktor Pro, having only used Traktor 3.something to play at a party on NYE, but I am worried that auto grid might let me down on the sync front and that I should be setting beat grids manually.

    Is the auto grid pretty tight in most cases?


    I did a search but all the threads seem to be about earlier incarnations of pro, I am using 1.2.1

  2. #2
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    depends on the genre you are spinning.. most EDM should be good.
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  3. #3
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Some tunes need some tweaking but mostly its dead on

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    861

    Default

    I spin mostly electro/progressive and probabaly only about 3% of the time the grid may be off. Once I start to grid more complex beats such as in breaks, it sometimes needs tweaking. Pro is light years ahead of Traktor 3 in the audo grid department tho!
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.
    Original Productions: https://soundcloud.com/alligator
    My Duo Productions: https://soundcloud.com/rockafellers
    Facebook Fanpage -->http://www.facebook.com/djalligator123

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor pepehouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny (S)pain
    Posts
    194

    Default

    I play mostly 4x4 genres and I would say is perfect 90% of the time, just let Traktor do it's job then you always can fix the tracks that are wrong, it will save you a lot of time.
    "I was caught so many times getting oral sex in the booth it was disgusting. I would tell the girls, "Bet you can't make me miss a beat"" (Francis Grasso)

    Home
    Mixcloud

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    355

    Default

    I always have to move the grid a few milliseconds back because where traktor puts the beginning of the beat it eats the peak of the kick drum....

  7. #7
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    I turned off autogridding. There weren't many where it was off by a lot, but there were enough to get annoying. At this point it takes me about 20 seconds to grid a track myself, so I just do them when I load them into Traktor
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  8. #8
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Even though some songs are off, it's cool to have a sort of start made, I find it easier

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    322

    Default

    The autogrid is fine, except when it's too far to the right, not on the downbeat, not on a beat, or thinks a measure only has three beats.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    I let it autogrid new tracks, then check them.

    I always have the grid marker on a place of significance (usually the first beat), so it doubles as a hotcue.

    So if the grid fine and on the first beat, then I'll leave it.

    If the grid is fine, but the marker is 2 beats of silence or something before the first beat, then I'll cue to the grid marker, beatjump ahead to the first beat, set another grid marker, then delete the first one.

    So yeah, the autogrid saves me some time.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •