first "gig" under my belt, impressions, troubleshooting
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default first "gig" under my belt, impressions, troubleshooting

so here's why "gig" is in quotes: in one of the trendier, cheaper spots to live in dc, there's a weekly house party called wine night. it's basically just a bunch of 20 somethings taking a load off from the work week. since i'm trying to jump in to controllerism/digital djing, it's basically a perfect, judgment-free spot for me to get practice playing in front of people. i offered to do it for free, of course, because, well, i'm by no means a pro, and the practice will be invaluable.

i played for like 3 hours, jumping genres (probably not very smoothly) and taking what requests i could. these kids have all sorts of musical tastes so i tried to "shoot for the middle" while still sneaking in some of my personal electro/indie/minimalist stuff (see genre jumping comment above). i had no "booth" obviously, but managed to set up out of the way of the flow of the party for the most part. i plugged into a pretty gimped sound system with only two speakers

bad stuff: