Esata external drive help/suggestions.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard
    Currently, San Antonio, TX the city of lost causes.

Default Esata external drive help/suggestions.

Okay, I am finally upgrading my laptop and will be upgrading from my current WD Book USB external hard drive to the ESATA flavor burst.

Question:
    Anyone know which ESATA drives are DJ worthy? Looking for something portable between 500GB-1TB. Here are some features I think are important:
    External optional power supply so that the USB ports are not busy.
    Casing/fan that keep the drive temp cool from overheating for outdoor gigs.
    Portable.

I have done some research, but I have found it a little confusing. Some peeps have recommended buying an external case and a hard drive for the cheaper and more portable solution. Also, I read that in order to take advantage of the fast transfer rate, it needs a RAID set-up. I am not a techie and would like to read what the community suggests. Thank you!
    This could possibly be a nice write-up by our DJ TechTools crew.

Tech Guru

Quote Originally Posted by roberto View Post
    Okay, I am finally upgrading my laptop and will be upgrading from my current WD Book USB external hard drive to the ESATA flavor burst.

Question:
    Anyone know which ESATA drives are DJ worthy? Looking for something portable between 500GB-1TB. Here are some features I think are important:
    External optional power supply so that the USB ports are not busy.
    Casing/fan that keep the drive temp cool from overheating for outdoor gigs.
    Portable.

I have done some research, but I have found it a little confusing. Some peeps have recommended buying an external case and a hard drive for the cheaper and more portable solution. Also, I read that in order to take advantage of the fast transfer rate, it needs a RAID set-up. I am not a techie and would like to read what the community suggests. Thank you!