beginner PA question
    Tech Wizard

Default beginner PA question

i'm pretty sure the next piece of gear i'm going to buy is a presonus firebox (open to suggestions, though). right now, i'm just routing through my bcd 3000 and i'm assuming the firebox will improve my sound quality.

anyway, my question is: would i be able to plug PA speakers directly into the firebox? if so, how would it sound? would i be better off routing from the firebox to a separate PA mixer first?

i'm sure this is basic stuff for most of you, but i'm still learning as i go. next step is to start piecing together my own PA (house parties!). unfortunately, i'm broke as a joke, so i'm looking for ways to save money. my idea (as a beginning setup) is to get the firebox, then just plug a couple speakers into it (maybe something like this: http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/m...548568168.html ).

thanks for any help!

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

If you get powered speakers (essentially, speakers that you plug into a wall themselves) then you can plug them directly into the firebox.

If you get unpowered speakers, they need to be run into an amp and then the firebox plugs into the amp.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall

Tech Wizard

perfect, thanks!

Sound quality is decided by the least quality component of your routing. No mixer,amp, or anything will improve sound quality. There are devices that lower quality (basically all devices) so you want to stay away from many devices before the sound is pumped through your speakers. Hope this helps.

Tech Wizard

No mixer,amp, or anything will improve sound quality.
    good point. and with my budget, i'm definitely trying to get from point A (laptop) to point B (speakers) as simply as possible. thanks for the tips.

Tech Mentor

The firebox will definitely improve the sound over the bcd3000.

As someone said, if you get active speakers you just plug from the firebox to the PA.