Need some newbie gear recomendations
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Need some newbie gear recomendations

Hello! I have been reading on these forums for a week or so now and found them incredibly helpful.

I am basically a complete noobie to DJing. For about 3 months now I have gotten myself familiar with the Traktor Pro software and familiarized myself with such basic concepts as beat gridding, fading, and track syncing. I have been running it on my PC, but I wish to get some gear that once I learn the ropes I could actually DJ with.

The problem is I'm not sure what to get. I know I would like a traktor ready controller, and a dedicated laptop to run traktor on. What else will I need? Do I need a mixer as well as a controller? I know I need an external soundcard for the laptop so that I can have two channels.

Any help or recomendations on some equipment would be greatly appreciated!

Also the amount that I am willing to spend is 1500-2000 total on everything.

Thanks

Banned

A VCI-100 Arcade Edition

Taking into account that you are just starting, i believe the VCI-100 would be your best option as there is always support and help available right here on DJTT. Get yourself an external soundcard such as the NI Audio 2 and you are up and running. You don't need a separate mixer right away, although later on it would be a good idea.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Tech Mentor

Awesome thanks for the quick responses! I would also like a nice powerful reliable laptop. What specs should I be looking for? Windows 7 vs Mac? Thanks again.

I think most folks round here would recommend a Mac to you, but its more of a personal preference thing mate. Get as much ram as you can for your budget.