Gear Enquiry CDJS vs vci-100
    Tech Wizard

Default Gear Enquiry CDJS vs vci-100

Hey,

I recently went on a trip to hong kong/singapore as well as going to many australian summer festivals where I noticed that a lot of DJs are using CDJs (cds or with serato etc) compared to midi controllers.

I'm about to purchase all of my gear (I'm a beginner) and I want to know what is the better route to go down.

I had my mind set on a vci-100, but after seeing 90% of DJs (a lot of them who I admire - MSTRKRFT, soulwax etc) using CDJs, it got me thinking...

Any help would be splendid

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

A lot of those guys started on that gear, and got comfortable, and the hassle of changing is a lot bigger than the benefits of having higher levels of technology.

You should use what you find to be the most convenient for your uses, and with the work flow you can maximize. *shrug*

Personally, I think it's pointless carrying around decks, and I think it's pointless carrying around CDs. But that's me. I find the advantages of the gear I own FAR outweigh the advantages of CDJs.

But I would never make an investment merely because others are using it. Even if you admire them, it's not like a musical instrument, where vintage guitars actually have different components and sound different. Spinning a set on the VCI-100 and on two CDJ-1000's will sound as good as the files you're using, not equipment, everything else being equal.

So, decide for yourself, really. There are ups and downs to both. I started on cd decks (not CDJ's as I didn't have $2000 to blow) and moved to digital vinyl and now use controllers. I would never go back.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall

Tech Mentor

I started on cdjs too, then moved to vinyl (no timecode) for a few years, and finally I'm into controllers.