How to do this using Traktor?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default How to do this using Traktor?

    My partner and I want to use my vci 100 + his faderfox and an external mixer to combine for a 4 decks + fx set. Meaning we each use 2 decks and sync to each other......what would be the proper way to hook this up?

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    You need to create a single TSI that has mappings for both controllers and mix externally. If you're on one laptop it's actually really simple.

    You route your 4 channels from your soundcard to the 4 channels on your mixer and control the decks with your controllers.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    I guess I should explain more...

    we each have traktor and a macbook and each have an audio 8 we want to mimic spinning on 4 decks in and out of each other but stay in sync

  4. #4
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    well, you can stay in sync by ear, which is usually the smartest bet, honestly. You can transmit MIDI over Ethernet, I believe, but I've never done that. I know there are threads around here that explain it, though.

    I really think the most reliable way is to just sync everything to each of your Master Clocks and communicate when changes happen so it can all stay in sync.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  5. #5
    Tech Guru B33SON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DvlsAdvct View Post
    well, you can stay in sync by ear, which is usually the smartest bet, honestly. You can transmit MIDI over Ethernet, I believe, but I've never done that. I know there are threads around here that explain it, though.

    I really think the most reliable way is to just sync everything to each of your Master Clocks and communicate when changes happen so it can all stay in sync.
    ya, just mix by ear. It's super easy if you manually set the BPMs to be the same.
    Myspace: B33SON
    Myspace: B33 Events
    Facebook: B33SONB33
    YouTube: Mix Competition

  6. #6
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Like I said on the Traktor Pro forumz, you have 2 audio8s. You could run a midi cable from one to the other, and slave one from the midi clock of the other. I'd definitely get this sorted ahead of time though.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Look in the instruction manual. It tells you how to do it in there.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I'm interested in learning this as well, a bit similar to how Hawtin & Dubfire do in this vid....

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMsSj...om=PL&index=75

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •