Traktor On Several Computers
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey/New York
    Posts
    744

    Default Traktor On Several Computers

    I have traktor pro installed on my laptop but I am soon going to replace it with a macbook pro. From what I understand you can only install traktor pro twice? what if i had to buy another computer down the road how would i go on about installing it again?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Yep 2 computers max.
    But you can install/uninstall it a thousand million times, but you can only have it working live and activated on 2 at the same time.

    So... if you are maxed out at 2. You can uninstall it off one and install it onto another.

    Always make an external backup before any install/unistall and you will be golden.

    [from one Santos to another]

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey/New York
    Posts
    744

    Default

    thanks for the tip but how do you make an external back-up

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Just copy your whole Native Instruments folder to external hard drive.

    If you have it on 2 laptops then that will be ok as a backup.
    Im just very careful. I have a full back up on external drive of all my music and my Traktor folders just in case.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey/New York
    Posts
    744

    Default

    okay so before I try this and mess everything up I would first copy the folder onto a external harddrive then uninstall tp....but what do I do when I wanna install it on the 3rd computer

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Install Traktor on the 3rd laptop.
    Then take the Native Instruments folder from the backup and replace the one that is one the 3rd laptop.

    When you start Traktor import your Music Folder (i assume that you will have the same music on the 3rd computer as the back up???). Then import the collection.
    Your tracks will all be missing as the paths to the tracks will point to the previous hard drive.
    You need to relocate the tracks with Consistency Checker . It may take a while.

    Import your tsi etc.

    That should do it.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru bumtsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,178

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    Just copy your whole Native Instruments folder to external hard drive.
    I wonder if that's enough on windows (ie in case any activation info is stored in
    the windows registry.. I've never checked).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •