Hercules DJ MK2 Vs M-Audio X-Session Pro

Default Hercules DJ MK2 Vs M-Audio X-Session Pro

Hello there!

I want to start off some mixing and I've come across these two controlers.
    Which one of them do you reckon?
    I have very little knowledge of mixing and just want to learn and have some fun for now, and later we'll see!
    The main thing that makes me consider the hercules one is the fact it works as a soundcard and you can plug in phone.
    I work on a macBook pro.

thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by amarelo View Post
    Hello there!

I want to start off some mixing and I've come across these two controlers.
    Which one of them do you reckon?
    I have very little knowledge of mixing and just want to learn and have some fun for now, and later we'll see!
    The main thing that makes me consider the hercules one is the fact it works as a soundcard and you can plug in phone.
    I work on a macBook pro.

thank you.

Sup amarelo - I own the Hercules MKII and bought it because it had a built in soundcard, I liked the jog wheels, and figured that on its 2nd version, most kinks should have been worked out. My Verdict - It's a piece of sh*t. It's poorly made(actually broke after about a year), the Hercules control software that it brings looses its settings when you shut down, and the instructions are not very clear. Meanwhile, it wasnt cheap ($300 at the time). Save up some more dough and get a VCI 100 - Its the best one out there, plus you'll have tons of support from this awesome site!
    Thanks,

Marco
    www.speakerfreaker.com
    downtempo goodness
    -------------------------
    2x Technics SL1200 MK2
    Pioneer DJM 3000
    Apple Macbook(OS/X 10.4)
    Traktor 3.2
    FinalScratch2

I have a lot of love for the X-Session Pro.

It'll get you started, wean you from using the mouse and with some hacks and Bome's remaps it'll get you to a moderately complex level of DJing. Plus you'll learn a bunch of MIDI along the way.