192 kbps mp3's - should I delete them?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default 192 kbps mp3's - should I delete them?

Well the title says the basis of my question. Asked this on another forum (so sorry if you guys find it there too, but looking for as much information as I can on the subject)

Alright. So I've done my homework, and I've really tried to read up on this subject. I know for a fact that mp3's are not "the best" file format in general, but they are one of the most readily available and decent on space usage.

As I am just getting into DJing, I'm prepping my music library at the moment. It's a crazy task, and I plan on really getting dirty with the ID3 tags and really making sense of it all.

I have a lot of music which I've mostly bought, grabbed a few tracks from friends, and downloaded some illegally in the past. (I know that's bad news, but a lot of it was when I was in college before I went out and got a "real" job). I now buy all of my music, generally settling with about 5 tracks per week so I don't kill my budget.

But my question is, I have a few songs I've downloaded/just have that are 192 kbps. I really want to keep my library semi-professional, and most places I've looked or read say 320 kbps or bust.

Now I'm talking about 2/3's of my collection. Some of the music is stuff I burned from CD's that I don't even own anymore (lost/scratched in the car/given to friends since I had copies of) before I knew what the proper bitrate was to copy over.

Should I just delete my 192kbps files and start "fresh" so to speak? Or could I get away with playing them at house parties?

I guess what I'm asking is what is the line? I'm not spinning in clubs anytime soon, I'll probably mess around on my own and bring my gear/computer over to friend's houses, but that's it for the near future.

Thoughts and suggestions?