How the hell works the reverse grain in traktor?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default How the hell works the reverse grain in traktor?

    Hey there mates I love to use the reverse grain when I want to put a rock song with its intro after an electronic one.

    So what I do is, with the forward button in the advanced mode start to move the speed knob to the left until the 0

    That would be nive if Traktor would pick the sample at the right time, but every time I use it the samples are different.

    How does it work?Whats the lenght of the sample?Does it pick the music before or after you push the button?
    thanks!!

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    355

    Default

    "The effect has to be started in off mode and then turned on to sample the current audio."

    rtfm

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I still don't understand, although I ve been testing and it samples de audio that is before the time you push the button.
    Anyway, sometimes it samples 9 beats, others half beat, its crazy

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    try to auto-grid your track and use reverse again as pier explained.
    Some of the Traktor FXs works based on the beatgrids you set for your tracks...
    maybe that is the issue

  5. #5
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Yeah, the fx are based on your track tempo. Incorrect track tempo = incorrect fx.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Coast, United States
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Dude, I have a hell of a time trying to snag the perfect sample with the reverse grain, and all my stuff is gridded well. I don't think the start time is quantized, just the length of the sample after starting it. Then of course you can mangle that to hell too.

    If you pitch the thing the same as the currently playing track, and give yourself some length, you can hear what is does when you turn it on a lot better. Sounds to me like it just instantly reverses playback from that point, regardless of the grid relationship.
    MacBook 2.4GHz, 6GB, Traktor Pro, Ableton Live, Bomes MT, Audio Kontrol 1, Vestax VCI-100 SE Custom, M-Audio Axiom 25, Akai APC40, NI Maschine, 2x Midi Fighters (c/o DJ TechTools - Thanks!!)

    Mixcloud DJ Sets

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    985

    Default

    Lollll, RTFM. what a good acronym.

    I cant use the revg effect well at all though.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    355

    Default



    yeah rtfm is very used in coding forums. There's even a t-shirt that appeared in thefirst chapter of IT Crowd


  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    first off all, reading the manual was the first thing I did, so keep your rtfms in your pockets.

    I think I'm going to give up, it's annoying, the song is well gridded, and depending on when do you push the button, it samples 9 beats or a half beat

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pier View Post


    yeah rtfm is very used in coding forums. There's even a t-shirt that appeared in thefirst chapter of IT Crowd

    hehehehe

    WANT!
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •