Starting Production
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Starting Production

Sorry but I posted this on the wrong forum by accident.

I've been DJing for a few years now and i'm finally about to start buying some production gear. I know you've probably seen this type of thread a million times now but your help would be appreciated.

I was thinking of getting a macbook and putting Reason on it to start off with and using a midi controller. I also have a copy of Ableton live LE somewhere that should give me a good idea of how the whole subject works, maybe thinking about buying the full version later. I was also wondering what type of soundcard or interface would be best, and if I would need a small mixer or not. I was going to get the M-audio bx8a monitors as they sound great.

Budget isn't too much of a problem as i've been saving for a good while and I think the gear is most definitely worth the money.

Please tell me your thoughts and any other things that you would recommend to me.

Cheers

The choice of a MacBook is a good idea.
    Reason is a great program. However it does lack some options you will probably wanna use like working with audio samples etc....

If you do go the route of a MacBook I recommend grabbing a copy of LogicExpress9 which is approx 200$

Whats really nice is you can ReWire Reason into Logic and send the audio from its synths etc into your Logic Project.

As well the millions of VST/Audio Units out there that can be plugged in to extend the functionality of Logic.

I myself work on both a 13" MacBookPro and an iMac with these programs.
    MacBook Pro 2.53ghz . iMac 2.6ghrz . Compaq 2.4ghrz . Berhinger A5OD Reference Amp . Berhinger Ultra Graph Pro . Behringer Truth B1030A Monitors . Stanton FS Open . Native Instruments Maschine . Numark Mixdeck . TraktorLE . Vestax VCI-100 . Behringer UMX-25 . M-Audio Trigger Finger . . Ableton Live 8 . Reason 5 . Logic 9 Express .

Tech Student