hooking up computer speakers to mixer
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default hooking up computer speakers to mixer

    Hey guys,
    until now, I have been using only headphones to mix because I didn't have any speakers. But now I found an old pair of computer speakers which I'm wanting to connect to the mixer.
    The mixer has 2 outputs: 2x RCA or 2x TRS (1/4") but the speakers have mini jack (male) connectors. I looked on various sites and also google for some conversion plugs but couldn't find something suited for this..
    Can anyone here point me in the right direction?

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hey,

    I had the same problem and have now got a RCA to 3.5 jack cable coming out of the mixer. Then you can connect the 3.5 jack from the speakers to the 3.5 jack comin out of the mixer through a little "bridge" you can buy from most electronic stores. Its just a small metal cylinder with a 3.5 connection on both sides. Sorry if the description is bad dont know what that thing is called! Hope it helps.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    go with something like this
    http://bit.ly/9KE5nv
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  4. #4
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    yess that's exactly what I was looking for, weltraumpapst. thank you for the fast reply.
    now the search for a dutch store with these leads

  5. #5
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sj03w4t View Post
    yess that's exactly what I was looking for, weltraumpapst. thank you for the fast reply.
    now the search for a dutch store with these leads
    no problem.. i got mine frome ebay. there are some chinse stores who sell them quite cheap (including cheap shipping).. the quality won't be off the hook i guess..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  6. #6
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    What exactly are these chinese stores you are talking about? Do you mean ebay stores?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sj03w4t View Post
    What exactly are these chinese stores you are talking about? Do you mean ebay stores?
    yeah. i meant ebay stores..
    like: http://bit.ly/9KnbXo
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  8. #8
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Thanks for the reply again
    I don't really like ebay and especially not when the product has to be shipped to europe all the way from asia I think it's a little overkill for such a small cable.
    Anyways, thanks to your links I could do a little more refined google search and I found out conrad actually has these cables in stock under 'overige audio adapterkabels' which is great, I will definitely order that one
    Now I'm looking for some more cool little things on conrad to avoid paying shipping costs (free over 25€ )

  9. #9
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    947

    Default

    get a helicopter and clown for sure

  10. #10

    Default

    ha. you guys don't have radioshack. bummer

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •