CDJs vs. Vinyl?
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: CDJs vs. Vinyl?

Default CDJs vs. Vinyl?

Hey guys, I know this is forum is mostly about digitally djing, but I have run into a problem and I couldn't think of anywhere else to go.

I made a mixtape a few months ago and a guy who does local events liked it. He's basically offering a booking oppurtunity, however he said they only book people who can play on CDJs or Vinyl. I've only ever used my X-session pro.

So. I was thinking about picking up either a CDJ-200 or a Technics 1200, because this is now the second time that my midi controller only technique has gotten in the way of a good opportunity.

How hard is it to pick up beatmatching if I've been using my midi controller for about 2 years now and basically understand the concept and execution. I've just never practiced.

Also, I think it's lame of event promoters to only book hardware DJs because many of the techniques and tricks I use to make my dj set better rely on the software (i.e. quantizing and harmonic mixing)

Thanks guys.

it depends...
    some peeps pick it up in a few days, others (like one of my mates) never learn to put a record straight.
    But if you thinking about buying a CDJ, do yourself a favor, pick a better one like the 400 instead of the cdj200.

spinning records (the black plastic things) is somewhat more difficult, you need to be more tender and have to deal with warped records and stuff.
    Y M C A !

2x 1200sl, Denon MC-6000, VCI-100 SE Arcade, Midifighter, BCR 2000, Traktor X1, Tracktor Scratch Pro, Pioneer 600 mixer, a mother in law (for sale!) and loads of coffee!

Eh?

Why is he saying that? Honestly that is nonsense.

Don't buy cdjs or vinyl for that reason because once you learn how to use em, you'll just go back to your midi set up and they will just sit there.

Tell the dude you can mix on cdjs but that you're a controllerist. If he liked youre demo why would he care how it was made???