Laptop of for DJ use?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Bunford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    809

    Default Laptop of for DJ use?

    Mac's are out of my price range. However, I've seen an interesting laptop in a local Asda store on offer at the moment. I'm just wondering if this will be good enough for use with Traktor Pro, a VCI-100 and Akai LPD8?

    The version I've seen is 247 instead of 387, has Windows 7 Home Premium, T4200 Dual Core 2GHz CPU and 3GB RAM. Seems a bargain and within my budget. Here's the laptop (it's the silver and black version I've seen):

    http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/p...l&tab=features
    Ableton 9.7.5, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate 11, MOTU 828 Mk2, Nektar Impact LX61+, Ableton Push, Native Instruments Kore 2, and a random selection of soft synths and sample libraries.
    Windows 10 Pro 64 bit with Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition 12 core CPU, 64GB RAM, SanDisk Ultra Extreme SSDs and a GeForce GTX 970 G1 Gaming GPU.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor bmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Toronto/ Waterloo, Canada
    Posts
    423

    Default

    i've never bought a Samsung, and to tell you the truth, I never really think of Samsung when I think of computers or laptops. I'd say either go for an HP or one of those new slim Acer laptops, decent battery life, and the specs should be good enough for dj software.

    if you want a windows computer with roughly the same reliability as a mac, you shoudl go for a lenovo, but then you're getting into the pricier category.

  3. #3
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    research DPC latency on whatever model you buy before you buy it - this is soooo important. If you dont know what dpc latency is read this site in its entirety - http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

    This WILL save you hours of heartache and hard earned $$$$

    Never buy Acer, ive had nothing but bad experiences with Acer and would never recommend them to anyone.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Bunford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    809

    Default

    I just looked at that site and just ran the test. Put my results in the other DPC latency thread. No idea what they mean though!?
    Ableton 9.7.5, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate 11, MOTU 828 Mk2, Nektar Impact LX61+, Ableton Push, Native Instruments Kore 2, and a random selection of soft synths and sample libraries.
    Windows 10 Pro 64 bit with Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition 12 core CPU, 64GB RAM, SanDisk Ultra Extreme SSDs and a GeForce GTX 970 G1 Gaming GPU.

  5. #5
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bunford View Post
    I just looked at that site and just ran the test. Put my results in the other DPC latency thread. No idea what they mean though!?
    Big red spikes are bad usually cause cracks and pops in your audio - DPC latency is the #1 cause of these cracks n pops

    Basically what you want to see is a nice constant stream of green preferably all sitting the 50 region.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru DJZILCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney/Singapore
    Posts
    635

    Default

    windows 7 is actually pretty good

    i just installed windows 7 ultimate on my intel laptop (backup laptop, main one is white macbook) and its pretty awesome!

    As long as i disable the wifi i can run Traktor on 2.5 ms , now dropouts at all, use dpclat to check

    i realised that as soon as i turn on the wifi the red spikes would be all over the screen - better disable that wifi!
    Setup:

    Traktor Pro 2 / S2 MK2 / X1 MK2 / Audio6 / Pioneer HDJ2000 / Westone UM3X / rMBP 13 inch 2014 (2.8 GHz) / Focal Alpha 50

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default

    i have to say it as a macbook pro owner, im a hypocrit,

    but if i was going to buy a windows laptop...

    i would suggest a DELL.... EVERYBODY CRINGE!!!

    but seriously, they are well spec'd for the price. ive had 2 relatives buy one in the last 2 years and they never miss a beat, in fact my mac crashes every now and then because i thrash it, so i have to load up on the dell(s) sometimes, and it goes all good.
    if you need a laptop in a hurry. im not sure about the UK but in AUS we have fairly decent customer service with DELL.

    if not, the a macbook or macbook pro is VERY much worth saving for..

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Well I can confirm the DELL customer service in the UK sucks bad. I must have spent 5 hours on the phone to them whilst they tried and failed to solve my latency spikes.

    Refund soon though = mb pro

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by giorgio1712 View Post
    Well I can confirm the DELL customer service in the UK sucks bad. I must have spent 5 hours on the phone to them whilst they tried and failed to solve my latency spikes.

    Refund soon though = mb pro
    yeah, i've heard bad things about other countries dell customer service, and a few glum stories here too, but i've only ever had good experience with them... most likely because i have never had to call them lol.

    grats on the refund, enjoy your future mac!

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Check out the Acer Timelines. 13", 4GB Ram, 2x1,4GHz and can run several hours without power supply. Also cheaper than the MBP obviously. Also very thin and lightweight.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •