powered subwoofer question
    Tech Wizard

Default powered subwoofer question

so i bought a crappy little PA off craigslist just so i could have something to take to small house parties.

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com...tem?sku=609803

it's actually not terrible considering how little i paid for it, but, as expected, it's got absolutely no thump!

i'm still learning, but from what i gather, there's a way to daisy chain a powered subwoofer into the setup (the amp only has 2 channels, and there definitely wouldn't be enough power to juice a 3rd speaker anyway).

i'm not really clear on the details of how to do that though. is there a special cable or device i would need to send out to the sub? i'd appreciate it if someone could describe that process for me.

also, i'd appreciate any opinions or recommendations about what type of powered subwoofer i should be looking for. i guess keep in mind the quality of my current gear, i'm not trying to spend more than 300$, and i <3 craigslist.

i really appreciate the help!
    15" MBP, BCD 3000, Korg PadKontrol + farmpad
    barely scratching the surface

A powered Sub has everything it needs to "just work" - an internal amplifier and the filters necessary to lose the high frequencies. It really is just plug-and-play.

All you need to do is run another pair of wires from your signal source into the sub by using a "y-splitter cable". Careful, there are many kinds of splitters. Some take a stereo signal and split it into left and right parts, but you want one that duplicates the signal on both paths. A pair of these would do it for an RCA output:

This for 1/8" jacks to RCA:

Many different combinations, check you have the right kind and DON'T LOSE IT.

Another option is to get a small mixing desk with multiple sub-mix channels, and dedicate a submix to each set of speakers. Lots of control over the sound if you go that route.

Tech Wizard

thanks fatlimey, i really appreciate you breaking it down for me.