DIY-midifighter (umc32 inside)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default DIY-midifighter (umc32 inside)

    hey there..

    finally, after more than a year and a half wishing to do it, i built my own midi controller. it has 16 arcade buttons, 8 knobs, 2 faders, 2 lit buttons and a membrane poti.

    the arcade buttons send out the same messages as the MF, so i can easily use the DJTT mapping.

    the case is wooden and actually an old box for microscope slides from my mum
    drilled the holes and got them in shape with a dremel. since i have no experience in planing a surface like this in illustrator for example, i did everything more or less by eye. so it's pretty ghetto and some things just went a little bit wrong

    the costs were:
    umc32 (sparkfun): ~7€ (payed the shipping only, cause i scored on the free givaway day )
    softpot: ~15€
    breakout board and button pads: 6€
    fader: ~10€
    potis: 9,60€
    knobs: 12€ (still did not find the right ones )
    arcade buttons: 25€
    a lot of small stuff like wires, leds, usb adapter: ~30€

    so a total of around 115€/150$

    the two faders still are not working, cause as soon as i activate them in the umc-configure tool they send out random messages as if they weren't connected :-(





    here are some more pics:
    http://yfrog.com/jbcimg2553jx
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  2. #2
    Tech Guru HerbStrike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    693

    Default

    this is sick good work
    i have issues with my umc32 at the mo when i plug it in the red led just stays on and won't connect to tracktor or my laptop
    this is what i have done
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...lerism+project
    Here's Where I Put My Stuff Remix's/Mix's/and............. Genrally Madness

    Sound Cloud :: http://soundcloud.com/herbstrike
    FaceBook :: http://www.facebook.com/pages/HerbSt...2547446?ref=ts

  3. #3
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    thanks

    try putting all the DIN switchen on the unit to ON and configure the chip with the tool which is provided by hale. note that if you configure an output as analog it has to be conected otherwise it will send out random messages..
    what platform are you on?! get the lastest firmware. the forums at hale are really good, cause KG, the owner, provides a great service by helping everyone very quickly..
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  4. #4
    Tech Guru HerbStrike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    693

    Default

    yeah i have had it working worked for about 3 days then i went back to it and it would not work i'm using it on a mac where do i get the program from?
    Here's Where I Put My Stuff Remix's/Mix's/and............. Genrally Madness

    Sound Cloud :: http://soundcloud.com/herbstrike
    FaceBook :: http://www.facebook.com/pages/HerbSt...2547446?ref=ts

  5. #5
    Tech Guru diezdiazgiant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    802

    Default

    looks really nice man

  6. #6
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    thanks, diezdiazgiant


    herbstrike: you can get the upgrade utility, the firmware and the config tool here:
    http://halemicro.com/Products/Products.html
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  7. #7
    DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,904

    Default

    Super cool dude!

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Iowa City, Iowa
    Posts
    106

    Default

    so did you just have to map it into traktor after building it? Also I was wondering if you could elaborate on the wiring. I have been looking at the umc32 but I don't get how the IDC cable would work. Is it like for the 4 connector pins of the UMC32 you either have to have it dedicated to analog and digital? Is the red wire the ground that you daisy chained the grey for the other connections on the push buttons? Thanks

  9. #9
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    i didnt map the arcade buttons, cause i changed the midi messages they were sending with the configuration utility from the website (http://www.halemicro.com/Products/Products.html). the other controls i just mapped to my needs (line faders deck C/D, knobs to FX units 3 & 4)

    the red wire on the ribbon cable is indeed the ground, that you can daisy chain without problems. the other grey cables are one control each (either button, knob, fader or LED), which can be defined in the config utility mentioned above..

    read the manual of the umc32, there are a ton of infos otherwise KG (the creator of the chip) helps a lot in his forum http://forums.halemicro.com/
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor etch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    101

    Default

    not sure if youve resolved it or not yet, but you may need pull down resistors, just to ensure clean signal an might resolve the random data issue with the faders?

    oh and, awesome controller!
    woof

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •