32 or 64 bit?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 32 or 64 bit?

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default 32 or 64 bit?

    What's the difference? 64 bit seems more accepted nowadays with many new music products (i.e soundcards, plug ins...etc). Are there any drawbacks I should beware of in purchasing a 64 bit platform computer? I'm a bit worried that some things in my studio might not be compatible
    Thx
    Last edited by Rick L; 04-08-2010 at 07:31 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default

    32-bit and 64-bit refer to the way a computer's processor, handles information. Long story short.... 32bit windows I believe is able to access 3.5gig ram and 64 bit I believe is something like 16gig. The ability for you to use more ram.

  3. #3
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    I have had 64-bit for a while. If there aren't drivers for 64-bit it will just run in 32-bit compatibility mode.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DvlsAdvct View Post
    I have had 64-bit for a while. If there aren't drivers for 64-bit it will just run in 32-bit compatibility mode.
    This. There are no drawbacks to a 64 bit system that I've been able to find so far.

    Except that windows 7 doesn't have hardware profiles anymore, but I'm trying to code a work around for that.
    I'm not good at things, but I like to pretend I am.
    :Project-Segfault:

  5. #5
    Tech Guru LanceBlaise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    USA, Where Techno Is Scarce
    Posts
    1,460

    Default

    if I run in 64bit mode in Logic lots of my plugins open up in some 32bit bridge thing. it can be a bit annoying, but whatever...
    [B]lanceblaise.com | podcasts

    for booking requests :: please go to: projecttechno.com

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Jack Creamation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    103

    Default

    there are still some hardware manufacturers who have not coded a driver to run on a 64 bit systems (even in 32 bit mode)

    Korg (all firewire products as well as some usb products) and Allen and Heath (1D for sure possibly others) being the more notable ones... Korg choses to ignore the issue altogether while A&H whole heartedly admits the problem and has released a beta of a driver they are working on...

    so ya, there are STILL issues with some hardware running one a 64bit system. best bet is to check with all the manufacturers of your gear before making the jump. or you will end up with a $2000 paper weight like me....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •