done with arrangment. not loud enough?

Default done with arrangment. not loud enough?

i've completed a song and i'm pretty happy with the arrangement. i followed some tips from tarekith regarding the mixdown and left some headroom (i also have a version of the same song with very little headroom and one with no headroom). when i export any of these versions they dont seem to compare to other songs in volume. how can i get these to be louder without making it sound crappy?

obviously, i don't want to master it myself but i'm a college student and kinda broke atm. just thought i'd mess around with it for a while until i can send it off (probably to tarekith lol) for a pro mixdown/master.

I too am quite interested in this.

The first full song I did in Reason sounded weak and bland compared to other tracks in the mix (no pot shots at my track! LOL). I added a mastering suite and tweaked the settings and BLAM, my track sits great in the mix.

Now if I want to send this off to proffesional mastering, do I do it before or after the Reason mastering suite?

The same can be said (weak and bland) for a few drum loops I made in Kontakt, but I put that down to my drum tuning as I tend to like dry drums (wet rings better in the mix, but is too much as I'm building a loop).

Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro
    Apogee Duet 2; Reason; Ableton 8; 49SL MkII; Maschine Mikro; Launchpad

Quote Originally Posted by munizj View Post
    obviously, i don't want to master it myself but i'm a college student and kinda broke atm. just thought i'd mess around with it for a while until i can send it off (probably to tarekith lol) for a pro mixdown/master.
    Opinions on this are mixed, personally id master it myself - but then again i know a thing or two about the process (though FAR from enough to become a mastering engineer).