Why use 4 channels?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Why use 4 channels?

I'm pretty new to the DJ realm, and I'm just now getting my first equipment. My question is why would you want to use 4 channels vs. 2? What exactly is the point? I'm thinking traktor wise, and also outputting to the mixer wise...

Tech Mentor

So you can mix 4 sources of music

One example with Traktor and an Audio 8 esp you can route 4 outputs to your mixer and use the mixer to control volume and EQS with 4 On screen decks

or do it Oldskool and Try and mix 4 Vinyl records at the same time

Quote Originally Posted by tyfurious View Post
    I'm pretty new to the DJ realm, and I'm just now getting my first equipment. My question is why would you want to use 4 channels vs. 2? What exactly is the point? I'm thinking traktor wise, and also outputting to the mixer wise...
    Do you mean 4 audio channels VS 2 standard channels (stereo signal) ?
    If you do, it's because you need 2 Channels [Stereo Signal Left(1) and Right (2)] to "send" the MASTER (HOUSE) audio signal and 2 Channels [Stereo Signal Left(3) and Right(4)] to "send" the CUE (MONITOR) audio signal.
    The MASTER would be the track that the crowd is dancing to. The CUE would be the track you are previewing in your headphones.
    You cannot accomplish this with a standard 2 Channel audio card, unless you rig it MONO and lose audio quality.
    Hope that helps out.

My above example is for a MIDI controller and 4 channel soundcard with no external mixer.
    If you are using an external mixer you would use this setup: Deck A [LEFT (1) Right (2) Mixer input 1] DECK B [Left (3) Right (4) Mixer input 2]
    Then you CUE through the external mixer.

Quote Originally Posted by loverocket View Post
    My above example is for a MIDI controller and 4 channel soundcard with no external mixer.
    If you are using an external mixer you would use this setup: Deck A [LEFT (1) Right (2) Mixer input 1] DECK B [Left (3) Right (4) Mixer input 2]