Best way to promote online without being annoying?

Default Best way to promote online without being annoying?

I know it's kind of inevitable, but when promoting yourself as a DJ or producer, what have you guys found are good ways to promote without being that annoying guy?

Is there an easier way than joining millions of forums and trolling or sending out a million myspace/facebook messages??

Default not gonna happen

all i ever talk about is the hardware/software/products and how cool THEY are. I don't make anything from of any of it. I'm a journalist by nature/trade, and that's how I approach everything I post here or anywhere else. And yet, still for the most part it just gets negativity. So good luck, and if you figure it out, let me know

Tech Wizard

The best way to not be annoying is to be part of the conversation that is going on.

Popping in on a board, FB, MySpace touch points and blasting your stuff without context is tantamount to running by a bunch of people having a conversation and interrupting them to tell them about your latest and greatest whatever it is you are promoting.

Being respectful of the context of the platform/conversations occurring, and being a real human being goes a long way IMO.

rob.

Quote Originally Posted by robtronik View Post
    The best way to not be annoying is to be part of the conversation that is going on.

Popping in on a board, FB, MySpace touch points and blasting your stuff without context is tantamount to running by a bunch of people having a conversation and interrupting them to tell them about your latest and greatest whatever it is you are promoting.

Being respectful of the context of the platform/conversations occurring, and being a real human being goes a long way IMO.

rob.
    and have big blatant links in your signature

Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

^^^ LOL. Nice.