Thinking of building my own MF-type controller. . .random questions. . .

Default Thinking of building my own MF-type controller. . .random questions. . .

Hey everyone. . .
    I'm fairly new to this, and I just had the notion to DIY a MF of my own. I do have several questions so I can go full on with my design. This is going to be long. . sorry guys. .

Saw the MF, and fell instantly in love. . . (no literally!), I understood the LED issues of the buttons, so I decided to go 2 steps further. Low Profile, Illuminated buttons.
    http://www.happ.com/pushbuttons/ilumn3.htm

I'm curious if anyone has issues using Suzo-Happ buttons (like doing triple crab rolls? . . again, I'm bad with wording =? ) or if there's something similar to Sanwa pushbuttons? And are there power issues I may have to worry about because of the LEDs?

What's the most buttons I can use on a single board? I see the 4x4 grid, but I'm also assuming I can add smaller buttons off to the side. I'm planning on using this as a Serato controller as well. (I have a nanopad, but I'd like to see if the Suzo-Happ buttons can replicate the "machine-gun" repeat for midi triggers. . .sorry, I just couldn't find the right words to say it!)

I know I'm new, and I'm asking rather redundant questions, but ANY help is GREATLY appreciated. . . .

Thank you
    Dj Windz One

DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar

Heya - you can add another 4 buttons using the expansion connector - however they will not have midi controlled illumination

There goes that Idea!!!

. . . .I guess I can start getting into the prototypes of the simple one I guess. Is there a forum post where I can find some of the software to begin my research and whatnot?

Thanks midfidiler!

Hey all. . .been a while. . .

I have a few more questions, and from the research I've been doing. . .

Does anyone know if the Low Profile Illuminated push buttons from Suzo-Hap have the same response (machine gun action) as the Sanwa or Semitsu butons?