NEW to DJ-ing please help.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default NEW to DJ-ing please help.

alright...I am basically a complete noob to djing, but would like to start. I'm looking towards more digital dj and i got 2 xone 1d's..what else do i need to get started?

Setup [give me recommendations!]:

Laptop [Im looking to get a new one since my laptop is a low on the requirments portion] whats the difference between PC VS Mac

Mixer: Xone 42 or 92 or Beringher DDM 4000 [want to do more midi and FX's]

Headphones: looking at the Xone 53's whats a good budget on headphones [looking to do bedroom dj to small parties.

Controllers: 2x Xone 1D's...should i go for 1x 1D and 1x 2D..so i dont need to get an audio interface. [like audio 8]

Audio: Audio 8?

Software: Traktor Pro

EFX: Pioneer 500 or 1000. what do you think?

also i installed my 1d to my laptop and it works, but i hear no sound when i play music through traktor pro...do i need a sound card? i thought i could use the sound card from my laptop..do you guys know what maybe the problem?

thanks for all the help!

Tech Mentor

ill give you a pointer, you're jumping way ahead of yourself.. if you want to get into dj'ing I would start small so you don't over whelm yourself. If you want to use traktor pro then get a VCI-100SE or go with the ddm4000. IMO the 1d's are more suitable for ableton, and the efx is more of a traditional setup, plus you could get almost get djm-800 for the price of the efx-1000, and the djm-800 has better fx capabilities in it + it's a damn good mixer. For budget headphones I would go with some Shure SRH750dj, shure has some of the best product support and they will replace your cans down the road for around $60 out of warranty, the guys at headfi give it awesome marks..