Dedicated laptop for Dj-gigging, and one for everything else? Pointless or good idea?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Dedicated laptop for Dj-gigging, and one for everything else? Pointless or good idea?

Hello! I found this great place some month ago and now i have a question.

This is the thing, i have been creating my own electronic music for many years and the last year started getting into DJ:ing. I will soon move to a new location and are making my current studio portable by switching from big computer + big soundcard to small laptop, soundcard & controllers.

So with this laptop setup i can continue with music creation - but also engage in DJ:ing when i get the oppurtunity. No matter what size or kind of party, i just love to play my music for people.

So my question now is to those who are already gigging as DJ`s. Is it bad idea to bring about your one and only "master" computer to gigs and such? How risky is it? I dont know since i have only used computers within my home.

Right now i have an old macbook wich works fine for Dj-use, but is a bit slow for heavy music creation. So i have decided to get a more powerful Macbook Pro.

Now the question is: should i keep the old macbook and use it as an dedicated DJ/Travel laptop, suited for more rough use. And have the Macbook Pro be the creative machine for use at home, safer an exposed to less risks.

Or should i just not worry about it and sell the old Macbook when i buy the macbook pro and have it as a do all station? It would be more convienient to only have one computer to travel around with. But it would also feel more risky.
    In case of damage/theft/drunk people spilling beer etc it would be great if the computer that it happens to is an older one that doesnt contain all the possibility to music creation wich is vital to me.
    It maybe seems as i answered my own question here, but i am still feeling confused about what would be best.

Some advice would be nice.