mackie connecting with vci 100
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default mackie connecting with vci 100

    I wanted to know im new to music and wanted to know if I can connect the vci 100 and the mackie mixer 1402 and use as a mixer or that not possible

  2. #2
    Tech Guru pilmat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    963

    Default

    Welcome to the forums.

    The VCI-100 does not have any audio capability. Rather it is a pure midi controller to control a piece of software on your computer. For audio, most of us use multi channel sound cards, which could be hooked up to that mixer.

    Why that particular mixer instead of a DJ style mixer?

    Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro
    Apogee Duet 2; Reason; Ableton 8; 49SL MkII; Maschine Mikro; Launchpad

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    oh ok im new to this i have a macbook with traktor pro and have vci 100 what else do i need to complete my djing i dj dancehall i would greatly appreciate that been hearing different staff from different folks. when it comes to sound effects whst woyld i need to do to add my own while i cant add them ok traktor pro

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Coast, United States
    Posts
    631

    Default

    You need a sound card (Laptop>Sound card>Amp or External Mixer).

    I wouldn't worry so much about sound fx before you have learned how to really own and operate TPro. After you're comfortable, there are options:

    1) Importing custom made files and using them in a Traktor deck
    2) Using Ableton concurrently to launch custom samples
    3) Using outboard hardware samplers
    MacBook 2.4GHz, 6GB, Traktor Pro, Ableton Live, Bomes MT, Audio Kontrol 1, Vestax VCI-100 SE Custom, M-Audio Axiom 25, Akai APC40, NI Maschine, 2x Midi Fighters (c/o DJ TechTools - Thanks!!)

    Mixcloud DJ Sets

  5. #5
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    so i need a soundcard right do i also need to get a mixer i thgt of a mackie 802 for now then build on later

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Your VCI 100 is your mixer. Some headphones would be good if you don't have any already. You'll need cables to go from your soundcard to amp or stereo or whatever is pushing your sound out. You can find sound cards ranging from around $50 on up to several hundred $$$.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •