ipad flare timecode
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    103

    Default ipad flare timecode

    doe the ipad flare patch work with traktor pro???? i can see people using as a time code rig in scratch but i have not seen anything about traktor pro.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Drimachus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    feijao land
    Posts
    145

    Default It works with tractor scratch

    The flare app has a timecode control tone. I'll pretend like I know what I'm talking about and say it is 1 kHz. Double the pitch/speed and you have a traktor-ish timecode tone. It works quite well for scratching.
    Search YouTube for iPad flare traktor, or imfromthafutur to see it in action

    Edit, yes I know how to spell traktor. The iPad fixed it for me and I didn't notice
    Last edited by Drimachus; 05-13-2010 at 07:41 AM.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    947

    Default

    you need traktor scratch pro to use timecode
    We don't believe in the star system. We want the focus to be on the music. If we have to create an image, it must be an artificial image. That combination hides our physicality and also shows our view of the star system. It is not a compromise-daftpunk

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Yeah i dont get it.

    That iPad Flare app hasnt got NI timecode so what timecode is it?
    Ive seen the App controlling Traktor and VDJ.

    I mean, Charo is right you need TSP and an Audio 8/4 or certified mixer to use timecode with Traktor so what the hell is going on with the Flare???

  5. #5
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    947

    Default

    i have used a cortex hdc1000 digital media player to control VDJ with timecode by using a wav file of the cdj version of the timecode on a usb stick. U could even use an mp3 player to do the same thing. I believe this concept would work using traktor, but obviously you would need the wav file of the traktor cdj timecode and TSP to access timecode features. not sure how the iflare is doing it

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Yeah thats true. Any media that can carry the timecode can be used.
    Thing is Flare havent licenced the timecode. But then again the guy says it has to be speeded up to work with Traktor.

    I cant see NI licensing the timecode to anything like this , no way.

  7. #7
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    can you load up an mp3 or wav? they possibly have a copy of the traktor scratch control vinyl playing

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Drimachus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    feijao land
    Posts
    145

    Default i don't know how it works

    I have, however, been able to use almost all timecoded vinyl with any/all softwares. Just tweak the pitch. Maybe someone should do a write-up on what works with what

    You can load up wav or mp3.

  9. #9
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    i need to look into this
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •