Question about Traktor and Serato
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    27

    Default Question about Traktor and Serato

    Can someone let me know if it might be possible to use the Serato rane SL soundcard box thing? with Traktor software on Laptop? i have a radio gig that has the serato box nailed in and I use Traktor, we are unable to get to the back of the mixer too...:eek:

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    If you are using timecode (ie Traktor Scratch), I don't believe it's possible. I've read about people having latency issues with TP using the SL1 box, but it's possible. Go down and see if it will work?
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    oooh ok, Im not using time code, just the Traktor software and external mixer and controller...

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MaxOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    I doubt it... but maybe... have you ever used Serato? If you can mix on decks it's well straight forward... surely they got serato timecode vinyl you could use too?
    CLUB OF JACKS - RELEASES >>TRAXSOURCE
    Club of Jacks are a London based House & Garage production / DJ duo with releases on a number of underground labels including Plastik People Recordings, Blockhead Recordings, Hi Energy!, Pocket Jacks Trax, Soul Revolution Records and their own Club of Jacks imprint.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    i dont have time to go down and see, hmmm..will have to take laptop and if not then cds as back up, but i realllllly want to use my laptop and traktor...

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Ive never used serato...or cds Im screwed, all I know is Traktor and controller...

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    i say, learn to use scratch live the software is free (u basically pay for the box or mixer) thats what i have to do out here alot of places use the sl box so whenever thats the case i just throw on scratch live... its very straight forward to use

  8. #8
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    could you not hook your audio interface master to a mic input on their mixer?

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  9. #9
    Tech Guru pilmat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    963

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BradCee View Post
    could you not hook your audio interface master to a mic input on their mixer?
    From my "Know Your Connections" article on the home page:

    "Can I plug other Gear into a mic input?

    The only thing you can plug into a mic input other than a microphone is a pair of headphones (which can be used as a microphone in times of absolute desperation). Dont attempt to plug a guitar, or any other input into a mic input it will sound like ass."

    Nice try. Plus it would be mono...

    Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro
    Apogee Duet 2; Reason; Ableton 8; 49SL MkII; Maschine Mikro; Launchpad

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pilmat View Post
    From my "Know Your Connections" article on the home page:

    "Can I plug other Gear into a mic input?

    The only thing you can plug into a mic input other than a microphone is a pair of headphones (which can be used as a microphone in times of absolute desperation). Dont attempt to plug a guitar, or any other input into a mic input it will sound like ass."

    Nice try. Plus it would be mono...

    Phil.
    was going to read that after checking notifications, you spoilt if now

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •