I got the basics, but where should i go from here??
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default I got the basics, but where should i go from here??

ive been DJing for 5 months now using an m-audio torq & xponent (currently transitioning to traktor pro right now though, its taking a while to get used to), along with a korg padkontrol (which i really dont know how to use, i can only get it to work with FL 9 & play keys but no loops) and ive been doing mixes & mashups and such, along with a couple shows (some haiti benefits, but they werent exactly my style, i only like mixing electronica). So basically im either for a graduation present or for the summer as i get a job & save up some $$ i want to know what direction i should be going in as for what to do next equipment-wise. first off id probably want to get my own laptop (i use my friend's laptop for shows) but im probably already getting one for when i go to college next year so besides that im stuck as to what i should be getting, like some real CDJs & a mixer (that arent insanely expensive), speakers, lighting, extra controllers, etc.. I also turn 18 this summer and im gonna be whoring myself out (making a promotional CD right now) and try to get club gigs but im also trying to do a show or two with my friends this summer so idk what my primary focus is right now so yeah if any of you guys are willing to read through this big ass wall of txt and give some pointers it would be greatly appreciated

http://soundcloud.com/dj-solus
    -
    Equipment: M-Audio Xponent w/ Torq Software, Akai APC40 w/ Ableton Live 8, Korg Padkontrol

This isn't a decision to be made hastily. Take your time and decide on what you would like, but i would get a decent laptop if i were you. But if you're getting one in the fall, maybe you could save some money.
    Don't worry about getting lights, it's a waste of money.