2 DJs 1 laptop Traktor - External HDDs
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default 2 DJs 1 laptop Traktor - External HDDs

    is it possible for 2 DJs to play off the same laptop with 1 using an external HDD in traktor? it looks like a bit of a nightmare - it's incredibly easy with SSL so I'm wondering if I'm missing something?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    It's really noddy.

    You plug the drive in and you can navigate to the tunes from the browser - not sure about bpm/grid/data - a mates Hercules died (everytime he plugged it into the browser there was a horrible buzzing - fucked power supply) so he lifted a load of tunes to a USB stick and had a crash course in Traktor, then proceeded to smash it
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default

    thanks mate - does anyone know if there's a way of putting your collection.nml file or suchlike on the stick/drive so you get cue points/grid etc?

  4. #4
    Über Tech Guru Ed Paris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    l.e. city / germany
    Posts
    4,011

    Default

    i guess it should work as long as the path of your external hdd is the same
    I'm just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.
    FB/Ed Paris
    MC/Ed Paris
    FB/Wallach
    SC/Wallach

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor PartyMcFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    455

    Default

    The exact process escapes me at the moment, but there is a very good explanation of how to have a "portable" Traktor setup in the manual. Take a look.

    It basically involves loading a complete .tsi with file paths, stripe info, collection data, audio files, midi/keyboard mapping, screen layout, etc. from a usb stick. You keep your native Traktor data folder on this usb stick, and your portable .tsi references it.

    Plug, import, and go. Clever NI's got you covered on a lot of these things.
    Last edited by PartyMcFly; 06-04-2010 at 10:47 AM. Reason: clarify!

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default

    it doesn't really help me though as i'd need to effectively switch profiles from my mate whilst on the fly.....i want to be able to just use my records with my crates and stripes on his setup, not to have to change the entire .tsi every 3 records....

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor PartyMcFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    455

    Default

    Looks like you'll have to keep your stripes on your partner's computer then, mate.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •