Laptop Dead
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Laptop Dead

  1. #1

  2. #2
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    hope you had back ups

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Any witnesses?
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  4. #4
    Tech Guru josh@firestorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ View Post
    Any witnesses?
    haha.. yeah, she died in my arms.


    all good (i guess) cos the hdd is fine, just seems to be fried motherboard. common out of warranty problem with that particular model.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by josh@firestorm View Post
    haha.. yeah, she died in my arms.


    all good (i guess) cos the hdd is fine, just seems to be fried motherboard. common out of warranty problem with that particular model.
    Let me guess.

    HP DV series?

    I had the same shit.

    HP DV6000z. The graphics chip burnt out. Sent it back as it was seen as a factory fault and many were recalled.

    All they did was put a new mobo in....from the SAME faulty batch.

    6 months later.....same thing....burnt out.

    Its in PERFECT nick.....sitting in my desk drawer.

    Beautiful laptop man......but dead as a doornail.
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  6. #6
    Tech Guru josh@firestorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    haha.. great guess!! dv5 actually. i've gathered from the chatter on various forums is that its a common hp fault for anything built in the last 2 or so years.

    im not too annoyed, it cost me nothing - i won it in a myspace competition about 12-18 months ago from the day i got it i didn't think it would last too long, it just felt so cheap! the power connector was loose from day one, the keys felt like they'd break off at every key press.... no need to explain to you tho as no doubt yours was the same.

    maybe it's time to go to the dark side and buy a mac?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru bumtsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,178

    Default

    The one thing I don't like about my dv5 is the slick plastic. Just gets gooey and slippery so quickly. Any model from the pro line would have a better feel to it..

  8. #8
    Tech Guru MiL0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brighton / Bangkok
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    At university I studied product and industrial design. One of the lectures was about built-in obselence and the science of designing things that would last a certain period of time before breaking. Sony and HP are the absolute masters of this... ever noticed how their shit always seems to break just outside the warranty period?

  9. #9
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    Mine was the handprint gloss!

    Sick laptop!

    Had a lil remote for movies and shit....



    Sad its fucked!

    Yeah...very common problem with the HP series.
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  10. #10
    Tech Guru bumtsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,178

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    Had a lil remote for movies and shit....
    Tsk tsk...
    Use something like eventghost and use the remote to browse through traktor's library (useless with an x1 though, let alone two!).

    A bit like this guy.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •