Don't read you if just want passby !!!
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    7

    Default Don't read you if just want passby !!!

    Dear all

    I;m gonna use Ableton Live 8 APC40 and DJM-800 , do i need sound card for 4 channels or its doesn't matter in Ableton? what do you recommend guys for good quality sound card , do i need Mapping for DJM-800 aswell?

    regards,

  2. #2
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    i think yes on the soundcard, but not sure about the djm mapping. possibly

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Here's a thread about midi mapping the 800 with a mapping in it. The little bit of stuff I've read about the 800 is that it's kind of limited as a midi controller.

    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11271

    I'm currently lusting over the Denon DN-X1600

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-WFN...eature=related
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Depends on if you want to use the DJM as a midi controller or a mixer. It does both rather well, but not at once. If you opt to use it as a mixer, you'd need a four out soundcard.

    I would probably run a 4 channel setup if that was my gear, having the apc40 as clip launcher and effects section, having dummy clips on every other track, and using the faders for effect parameters. Then doing the mixing on the 800.

    It's a rather large setup thou, might want to thing about how you'd set that up in a tight booth.

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    7

    Default

    thanks all guys ,

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    7

    Default

    well yeah i'm gonna use apc40 as a launcher and effect , and djm 800 only for mixing , i'm still lost becuz the sound card becuz i don't know much about ableton still reading n stuff , so does this setup support 4 channel or its depends on sound card?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ola View Post
    Depends on if you want to use the DJM as a midi controller or a mixer. It does both rather well, but not at once. If you opt to use it as a mixer, you'd need a four out soundcard.

    I would probably run a 4 channel setup if that was my gear, having the apc40 as clip launcher and effects section, having dummy clips on every other track, and using the faders for effect parameters. Then doing the mixing on the 800.

    It's a rather large setup thou, might want to thing about how you'd set that up in a tight booth.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    If you are only using the DJM as a midi controller (no DJM effects etc) then you'll only need a 2 stereo channel soundcard (one for master, one for monitor).

    If you are going to send the audio out to the DJM as seperate channels for mixing you'll need a four stereo channel coundcard.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •