seperate computer for Djing? what about seperate partition?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor DJMilk3y's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    290

    Default seperate computer for Djing? what about seperate partition?

    Would this be a cheap way to have a computer specifically for music production and djing? thanks for any input you guys can add to this /discuss
    Last edited by DJMilk3y; 07-12-2010 at 09:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Lecko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England/Midlands
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Partition would be the cheaper way to have a "Clean" system to dj with, My MacBook is used for djing only and I have a work MacBook I use for everything else, suppose I''m lucky with that, only problem with just having a partition is that if your hard drive fails then the 'lot' is gone! So always have a backup system
    MacBook Pro 15" 2.0GHZ i7. Kontrol S4. Traktor Scratch Pro 2.5. MidiFighter Classic. Aiaiai TMA-1.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    works for me, both partitions (normal use and traktor) are almost completely different in terms of enabled/disabled hardware, services and and power management.

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    41

    Default

    seeing as my laptop has 2 hard drives and i've found the performance isnt perfect, would it be viable to have one drive for traktor and the other for general use?
    http://soundcloud.com/muur-1
    (Nothing much but if you're interested)

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Krilikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nj
    Posts
    427

    Default

    that's actually what i do, works well for my needs i guess

  6. #6

    Default

    also check this thread out if you are on windows
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2009/07/1...e_windows_djs/

    or this thread if you are on mac
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2009/08/0...c_dj_optimize/

  7. #7
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Negotiator View Post
    also check this thread out if you are on windows
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2009/07/1...e_windows_djs/
    shell hack + dedicated boot + auto login = power button to traktor in around 20 > 30 seconds

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  8. #8
    ctrld
    Guest

    Default

    mac: the only thing it's good for is traktor, don't care don't tweak, it runs.
    pc: dual boot, one partition for work* and the other one strictly for sound.

    all aditional data like tracks and VST libraries is stored on another (internal) hard drive. I'm way too lazy to mess with hardware profiles... if you create partition images, you can do a complete clean reinstall within minutes so why bother

    *) it's actually 80% slacking off (don't let my boss read this... hold on... I DON'T HAVE A BOSS HAHAHAHAHA)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •