which soundcard for new setup im putting together
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    1,435

    Default which soundcard for new setup im putting together

    ok so im looking at getting 2 kontrol x1's and a ddm4000 for 4 deck mixing at home (plan to add mashine later).

    which soundcard will i need to cover this?

    thanks

    - me

    p.s.

    looking to mix externally, basically im going to use the ddm4000 as a poor mans, low sound quality replacement for an xone 92 =p


    thanks in advance guys
    Baked Chicken | Brown Rice | Asparagus | Apple Juice | Snack Wells | Pretzel Chips | Lots of Water

  2. #2
    ‹ber Tech Guru Ed Paris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    l.e. city / germany
    Posts
    4,011

    Default

    I'd recommend u to get the Audio dj 8! I have it and i Love it
    I'm just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.
    FB/Ed Paris
    MC/Ed Paris
    FB/Wallach
    SC/Wallach

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by earl panda View Post
    I'd recommend u to get the Audio dj 8! I have it and i Love it
    yeah im quickly realizing thats the only way for me to go, run the x1's on the audio 8 and then run mashine into the mic return on the mixer.
    Baked Chicken | Brown Rice | Asparagus | Apple Juice | Snack Wells | Pretzel Chips | Lots of Water

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xtianw
    yeah im quickly realizing thats the only way for me to go, run the x1's on the audio 8 and then run mashine into the mic return on the mixer.
    Aren't X1's USB? Ain't Maschine USB?

    Controllers plug straight into your computer and control the software. You specify where the audio goes from WITHIN your software.

    There are a load of sound cards with 8 outs that will allow 4 deck mixing. Don't fall into the trap of getting NI cards just because so many people around here have 'em.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  5. #5
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Aren't X1's USB? Ain't Maschine USB?

    Controllers plug straight into your computer and control the software. You specify where the audio goes from WITHIN your software.

    There are a load of sound cards with 8 outs that will allow 4 deck mixing. Don't fall into the trap of getting NI cards just because so many people around here have 'em.
    so true, OP: tell us how you're thinking of setting this up

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    4 outs into the mixer (1 for each deck) and running mashine into the mic input on the mixer. i figure i ever play out with this setup, the likelyhood of a club having an 8 channel mixer is slim to none. 4 channel + mic is a lot more likely.

    so since mashine itself doesnt have any audio outputs, ill need either a 9 channel soundcard or an audio 8 and an audio 2? (head explodes)
    Baked Chicken | Brown Rice | Asparagus | Apple Juice | Snack Wells | Pretzel Chips | Lots of Water

  7. #7
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    854

    Default

    nonononono

    The maschine plugs into USB port of laptop, just like the X1 (two times) and the audio 8. Then the audio 8 cables (audio cables, output) go into the mixer (4 channel input).. vožla

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor DJMilk3y's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    290

    Default

    im thinking of getting this setup 2 you could use the ddm4000 full midi so plug it in via usb until you have enough money for a soundcard. Thats what im thinking of doing anyways

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sj03w4t View Post
    nonononono

    The maschine plugs into USB port of laptop, just like the X1 (two times) and the audio 8. Then the audio 8 cables (audio cables, output) go into the mixer (4 channel input).. vožla
    yeah see the only way ive seen this setup is by using 2 laptops, 1 for mashine and 1 for traktor, but i went to a clinic yesterday with chris liebing (who was friggin amazing last night i might add) and drumcell swore up and down that you can run 4 decks into an external mixer with mashine on 1 laptop.

    i have witnesses, jesc was there with me lol.

    but anyway, im just not getting how thats possible without 9 sets of outputs. what am i not grasping here?

    thanks for the replies btw everyone
    Baked Chicken | Brown Rice | Asparagus | Apple Juice | Snack Wells | Pretzel Chips | Lots of Water

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor DJMilk3y's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    290

    Default

    Its usb so it can plug into the computer then the SOFTWARE can be routed through to traktor. Big fancy DJ's use 2 labtops because there big fancy DJ's

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •