Audio Problems With Traktor Duo & Audio 2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Audio Problems With Traktor Duo & Audio 2

    Hi Everybody

    This is my first post so I apologise for sounding so inept.

    I recently bought an X1 Kontroller, Audio 2 interface and Traktor Duo. They're running through a Mac and an external mixer. My problem is channeling the sound. Whenever I play a track it only comes through one speaker. I can't get it to play in stereo. Likewise, the same track will, after fiddling with the output selector, sometimes come through a & b. In short, I can;t get tracks playing normally in stereo, one through each channel. It's doing my head in. Any help very gratefully accepted.

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.

    Are you trying to play in external mode..? One deck on one Mixer channel and the other on another mixer channel?

    If so you need to be in External Mixer Mode in Preferences.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    If Karlos didn't nail the solution for you then we'll need more info. A picture or diagram of your signal chain could be really helpful.

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks Gents

    I'm already in external mixer mode, so god knows what the problem is.

    RE: The Signal Chain. If what you're referring to is a diagram of all connections, my laptop is connected by usb to the audio 2, which is connected to two seperate mixer channels.(You'd probably guessed that already). I am totally untechnical and basically new to all of this. I wish I could give you some more specific info but unless the language is conducted in layman's terms I don't think I can.

    Thanks anyway. If there's anything else you can suggest I'd be happy to hear it.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fred6 View Post
    Thanks Gents

    I'm already in external mixer mode, so god knows what the problem is.

    RE: The Signal Chain. If what you're referring to is a diagram of all connections, my laptop is connected by usb to the audio 2, which is connected to two seperate mixer channels.(You'd probably guessed that already). I am totally untechnical and basically new to all of this. I wish I could give you some more specific info but unless the language is conducted in layman's terms I don't think I can.

    Thanks anyway. If there's anything else you can suggest I'd be happy to hear it.

    Cheers
    What kind of mixer? The Audio 2 uses 1/4 inch connections correct? So, check to make sure your cable is good and make sure the pan on your mixer is centered and not left or right. Also, depending on the mixer, check to make sure that both channes (left and right) are at the same volume.

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    The mixer is an Allen & Heath X One 32.

    Thanks

    I'll check it out.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Check the balance rotary knob and then check your connections.

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Will do. I'll be back tomorrow if I can't sort it out.

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I've tried your suggestions and are no nearer solving the problem which is trying to get stereo sound out of individual channels. Every time I play individual tracks the sound either comes out of one speaker, or the same track comes through both operating channels. I'm sure I'm doing something very simple fundamentally wrong, but with no previous experience and a very untechnical brain, I'm getting grief.

    Any further help much appreciated.

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    What mixer are you using?

    My set up is: Traktor preferences mixer: External Mixer Mode
    Output preferences: Deck A > 1 & 2
    Deck B > 3 & 4

    1 & 2 go from the supplied cable into channel 1 in the mixer
    3 & 4 go from the supplied cable into channel 2 in the mixer

    Master out in mixer > Amplification

    Should work?
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •