Importing into Traktor
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default Importing into Traktor

    Lets say I have 10 gigs music in itunes (where I organize everything)...If I import my music into Traktor, does it duplicte all the music again?

    Thank-you

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    No it doesn't mate.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    No it just tells Traktor where the music is on your computer. What you need to watch out for is if you move it somewhere on your computer Traktor won't be able to find it. I have Traktor set to check consistency on start up and that finds anything that might have gotten moved on accident.

    On the other hand iTunes has a setting in preferences to copy music to the iTunes folder. If that is checked and you download a song then drag it into iTunes you now have two copies on your computer.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default

    One last thing...I have everything from itunes sorted in playlists already. When I import into Traktor, do the same playlists appear all nice and organized within traktor's playlist folder similar to itunes'...or do I have to re-create the playlist names then import itunes' playlist (one by one) into Traktor.

    in other words...
    example itunes
    Playlist 1
    song 1,song 2,song 3, song 4,song 5, etc...

    Playlist 2
    song 1,song 2,song 3, song 4,song 5, etc...

    Playlist 3

    song 1,song 2,song 3, song 4,song 5, etc..
    etc...

    ...Now In traktor import everthing and it looks just like itunes

    or...

    create playlist 1 in traktor's playlist folder called Playlist 1
    import from itunes playlist 1...
    song 1,song 2,song 3, song 4,song 5, etc...

    create playlist 2 in traktor's playlist folder called Playlist 2
    import from itunes playlist 2...
    song 1,song 2,song 3, song 4,song 5, etc...

    Does this make sense? Is this correct?

    Thank-you

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    When you open Traktor you can browse your iTunes library in the tree in the left. All of the playlists in iTunes will be there. If you right click on a playlists that is in iTunes you will wave the options to import into collection which will add the songs to the Traktor collection, and import into playlists which will put that playlist in Traktor's lists of playlists. Once again it just shows Traktor where those are and doesn't duplicate anything on your hard drive.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I will try that. All this to be able to see the artwork in the browser section.

    Thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •