Slam the fader?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Slam the fader?

Default Slam the fader?

hey all im getting taught by an old timer dj (im a traktor pro user but he makes me use serato), and today im playing on his ttm57 and hes like dude, never slam the faders like that, and were not talkin that hard, i mean, i was using them with force but not what i would ever consider exessive, but my opinion on it is that mixers should be built to fucking last (let alone a ttm57), the faders will probably ware more from regular use then these (slams) every once in a while,then he was going on about how if i go to clubs people r gonna get super pissed at me for slamming faders ect, anyway, i wanna know your guys take on this because i could be completely wrong, but i kinda doubt it

meh, i'm thinking maybe it's just his preference to be a bit more smooth with the faders, when you say 'slam', you mean you're hitting them quick for a sharp cut in/out?

did he say it was because of wear and tear?

Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Man, don't play too forcefully on gear that isn't yours. It's just a common courtesy whether it's an armored tank battle mixer or an ipod.

Your gear, go all out 'till your knobs fly across the room. But be nice to other peoples' expensive things.

Tech Guru

You'll learn soon enough that slamming faders is both stupid and unnecessary when you have to send your own equipment in for costly repair.

It's been said before - slam your own faders to your hearts content. But show other epoples gear a little more respect.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Tech Mentor

I've yet to see a scratch DJ that doesn't have their crossfader "click" or "slam" (as you call it) against the metal when they scratch.