New to DJ'ing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to DJ'ing

Tech Convert

Default New to DJ'ing

Hi,

I'm brand spanky new to the world of DJ'ing and after thinking for over a year about "I could make this track better" I've decided I want to get my myself into the game (for hobby purposes).

After looking at the various types of hardware available I think being a DDJ would be better for me as Vinyl is quite expensive and I'd prefer to have my music portable and record things I can just slap on my mp3 player.

so i need help choosing a mixer/decks combi unit yet I've got no clue which product I should go for.

I'm an absolute beginner, so I've just purchased How to DJ for dummies but I want an idea of the hardware I would need before purchasing.

I've been told I'd need something like a Behringer BCD3000 but then again I've been told it's not that good lol.

so something cheap that will help me into the world of DJ'ing.

Cheers

You have a few options:

Controllers:
    If you want to go all digital, go for a controller.

Options:
    Like you said, a BCD-3000 is good for a beginner, get one off e-bay for cheap, so if in a year you want to upgrade you can sell it again for cheap. Playing in a club with this one isn't really an option though.
    Cost: $100-$200

If you want to buy something that will serve you right for a few years, get a VCI-100(SE) and an Audio 2/4 You won't run out of option for this one for years to come. And it's nice to have an external card anyway. Personally I'd go for the Audio 4, since you'll also be able to use it with DVS.
    Cost: $500-$1000

CDJ:
    If you would like to learn playing with CDs, you could get a pioneer 350 kit: 2x CDJ-350 and a DJM-350. This is a very nice set. Combined with an Audio 4 you could use your laptop with traktor scratch and time-codes. They also accept usb-sticks and come with rekordbox, sou you can prepare a set on your laptop.
    Cost: +- $1900