Autogayn
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Autogayn

  1. #1
    Tech Mentor levvis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne VIC/Ballina NSW
    Posts
    406

    Default Autogayn

    Clever pun. Anyway, saw there were bits and pieces around about autogain but more pertaining to how shit it is.

    My question is if I turn it of and adjust my tracks manually, am I just doing it through headphone cuing?

    I figure i'll just bang my channel fader in the middle and then listen to see if the track I'm brining in is at the same level and if not adjust it? Is that how it's done? I'm sick of autogain making my shits too quiet.

    Holla at me dawgz

  2. #2
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zacl87 View Post
    I'm sick of autogain making my shits too quiet.
    analize the tracks first, then load them

    raise the master out, but not too much

    or turn up the volume on your speakers

    its not the autogain's fault

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor levvis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne VIC/Ballina NSW
    Posts
    406

    Default

    hmmm. If I put the gain up it'll probably clip. I know the autogain is in reference to the track that's playing but i've had tracks that would be fine if they weren't autogained, but it jams it down like 2db and I have to raise the gain manually anyway.

    Is how I described how you manually gain with it off anyway? Or is there a better way?
    cheers

  4. #4
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    well the auto gain makes it so all the tracks are at the same level.
    so, like i said, you should probably turn your speakers up instead

  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,409

    Default

    Look at the comparative wavforms in the decks dude. If the next track seems "thin" compared to the current one you might want to boost the gain on that track by anything up to about 2db. Likewise if it seems beefier, drop the gain a tad. Don't forget you can adjust the auto gain settings for each track in the edit screen. I haven't used autogain foe years but i do run my tracks thru a little app called mp3gain, which cuts back on gain adjustments quite a bit.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

  6. #6
    Tech Guru josh@firestorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    +1 on 'pre-normalizing' before bringing into traktor or the software of choice. way more control over the 'volume' you want from your music.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    if you don't like where traktor has set the autogain level, edit the track in browser and set a different value.

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor levvis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne VIC/Ballina NSW
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Yeah cheers Jester I remember you mentioning that mp3gain in another thread. Probably good idea. I'd just rather not use it and learn to do it myself. Good point on looking at the wave forms too, makes it a bit easier that just listening for it.
    cheers

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by levvis View Post
    I know the autogain is in reference to the track that's playing but
    cheers
    No it's not. It's + or - 0:0db depending on the amplitude of the track.
    Nothing to do with any other tracks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •