Absolutely a complete noob with speakers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Absolutely a complete noob with speakers

Hey, so as the title suggests, I'm absolutely a complete noob when it comes to speakers and setting up my gear with some speakers.

I'm looking to buy some speakers for DJ-ing personally for myself, and I'm wondering which ones to get. I looked at some on craiglists and met with a guy but I had absolutely no idea if they would work or not so I ended up passing them up.

I have an Audio 2 DJ Sound Card and I just don't know the first thing about speakers and which cables run from the sound card to the speakers. Would I be able to use the sound card on a pair of speakers that I could play with at a house party or not? Are there any suggestions as to which speakers I should buy that might serve that purpose?

Sorry, this thread is kinda all over the place but I really have no idea what I'm talking about when it comes to speakers.

Thanks for any and all advice
    Dancing to good music should be like having sex with the air.

Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/dj-jarvis

uh well, for practicing in my room i have some frisby fs 5000-7 from their thing on ebay.

as for house party stuff i have one weird setup that consists of 2 newer home sterio speakers, a sub i got from someone else and 2 random speakers. i cant really help you there
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

You can plug your Audio 2 directly into any speaker system that has unbalanced inputs. This pretty much means no XLR in's, so look for a system that has 1/4" or RCA inputs. And you're might need some adapter cables, but those can be found pretty cheap.
    I would advise looking for powered speakers, so you don't need to haul around a separate amp. Depending on your budget there are several options available.