opinion on playing multiple tracks from one artist during a set
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default opinion on playing multiple tracks from one artist during a set

I'm still very new to this and just messing around. I was wondering what you guys thought of using multiple tracks from one artist in a set or even back to back. not thinking more then 2 or 3 at most. It just seems like some producers have a great sound and their stuff goes really really well with their own stuff. idea would be to kind of build up through their sound for 2 or 3 tracks and then change direction slightly. It could be just my inexperience with picking music still.

It would be in a techno set.

thanks
    m.

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

I'm not a fan of repeating artists in a set, let alone back to back, and I think there are enough techno tracks that you can find things that mesh, but I know a lot of people that do it. :-)

I wouldn't do it, not saying you shouldn't.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall

It all depends on the mood and setting you want to create with a mix.

If tracks work well together, go for it, if they don't... too bad.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

I've been guilty of playing artists too closely in a set. I'm usually never thinking about who makes the track but rather, the BPM and where I want to take my set. Take for example, I played a popular track by Modulate (dvlsadvct knows which song I'm talking about LOL) which was fine, but I also played a relatively unknown/unplayed track off their new album that just dropped a few weeks ago. Because most people would not be familiar with it, I figured no harm no foul.