Midi Mid Life Crisis!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Midi Mid Life Crisis!

I feel terrible to say this...but I think I made a mistake choosing a midi set-up!

ARGH!

Let me explain. When I discovered that I wanted to do DJing, I was torn between cdj and midi. What made me choose midi?

1. Cost. Cdjs just seemed too expensive.

2. Sigh...the ease. Pre-syncing the bpm, 8 frigging cue points, all sorts of extra features...it was so obvious. So much more can be done with Traktor, and it can be learned so much more easily.

Now that I have been DJing for almost 6 months now...I feel like I have invested in the wrong set-up. I have Traktor Pro, an Akai APC40 which is fully mapped, and an LPD8. I also have an audio 4 dj as well as an audio 2 for back-up.

I feel now that I should have invested in cdj. Reasons being

1. !!! CLUBS USE CDJS !!! This is the main reason! I play progressive/trance /electro house, which is CLUB music. I have zero interest in playing at house parties, the main place where I can see myself playing is a club, and that's about it. Hauling in this huge piece of junk to hook up to a mixer along with a laptop, and lpd8...what a pain in the ass. Making sure the sound levels are even if mixing in and out. Club owners discriminate against midi-users. There are so many factors as to why bringing my set-up is a pain in the ass.

2. Clear mind! I don't want to constantly stare at a laptop, at a frigging screen. I am tired of looking at a screen. DJing is a musical hobby, not a computer hobby! The classic DJ set-up just looks so...great! Buttons and knobs and the disc of course! All audio! It looks great from the audience perspective compared to pressing some buttons and knobs and staring at a computer. Using actual cds!

3. Zero transportation issues! Headphones, cd binder...what else is there? So clear and fresh and...agh so nice! Just go to a club with a small bag and that's it.