sub bass help

Thread: sub bass help

Tech Guru

Default sub bass help

hey guys, so I'm still pretty new to producing dubstep. I post this song because it has a specific sub bass line I want to kind of replicate. The track I'm working on is a lot more ambient, so I dont want to really use a lot of midrange growl, mostly I'm just interested in the "womp oscillation". not really wobble... just this pressure that kinda compresses your chest.

I love to double drop this tune because the bass does a really good job at pressurizing a room. The bass line I want to replicate is most prevalent around 1:50.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJ04B...feature=search
    Last edited by sine143; 08-22-2010 at 02:23 PM.

Sounds to me like a constant sinewave around 30-60Hz but gated against an LFO on a quarter note. The trick to making it sound percussive is to use a soft knee on the gate so you don't clip the sinewave too harshly and add clicks.

So a sinewave gated against a smoothed off square wave. The other trick used here is to play the subbass pulse offset by a 16th after the bassline note. Got to admit it does the business, messing with your sense of balance over headphones.

Tech Guru

Right now I'm using the performance stepper in massive to control filter frequency cutoff. At first I was just using the lfo, but its pretty obvious its going to take some more work than that.

I've got a decent thump now, but obviously its still not up to par. I'll play around with it more in the morning.

I've still got to figure out where I actually want to go with this tune... I've got percussion down alright, still needs tweaking, and a good ambient intro/backing track.

There are a lot of ways to achieve this.

A sine wave has only one frequency, no harmonics, so if you mess with the filter you're only messing with the volume, as there is only one frequency to filter...make sense?