Traktor BPM analysis error
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Traktor BPM analysis error

    Hey gang, I've been coming across a quirk in traktor pro. On fairly rare occasion it will analyze a track and say that it's 30 0 40 BPMs faster than it actually is. If the track were 120bpm, it would register it's beat grid at 160 or even 180bpm. I can't imagine I'm the only one who has had this problem. Could it be a matter of erasing the tag and analyzing it again. Let me know what ya'll think.

    Word
    Ammon

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,401

    Default

    Drop a grid on the first beat and hit the auto button dude. I wouldn't trust traktors beat detection as far as i could throw it. Also, manually grid every tune welcome to the forum bud
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Word, the relocation of the grid doesn't actually change the BPM of the track, I've found it's more useful as a way of straightening out confused grid markers.
    Manually gridding the track doesn't make it any faster or slower either. Thanks for the input though, very much appreciated.

  4. #4
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    make sure the song isnt loaded
    right click on it
    select analyze bpm
    then load it, that seems to work when the bpm is ridiculously off
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    ROCHESTER, NY
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Ammon Im having the same issue.
    Jester has a solution, but thats the most painstaking. I shouldn't have to manually beatgrid every track!!

    I find that seratos bpm detection is much better.
    I analyze my external in serato once a week every tuesday night for 4-5 hours, and it writes the tags to the file, ie: they appear in itunes. Then, when I use my Itunes library via TSP, the bpm (correctly) shows up. Pain in the ass, but it works.

    Anyone have an easier solution??
    TSP/Audio8
    2xTechnics 1200 MK2
    1xRane TTM-56
    2xShure M447
    X1

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor No Left Turn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    434

    Default

    Beat detection isn't perfect in ANY program. Traktor, Live, Pro Tools, Cubase... they all get it wrong sometimes. Some, more than others...
    MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Core i7 :: Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.10.5
    Traktor Pro 2.9 :: Launchpad :: MIDI Fighter Pro Beatmasher/3D

  7. #7
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    I've found Traktor's BPM analysis to be better than Serato, on average. Granted, this is from VERY little interaction with Serato, just seeing other people use it.

    But yeah, it can be off, like in anything else. You don't HAVE to beatgrid every track manually, but you're a lot better off if you do
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  8. #8
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Set the BPM analysis range to a narrower value

    Help > Manual
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  9. #9
    Tech Guru completej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lethal_pizzle View Post
    Set the BPM analysis range to a narrower value

    Help > Manual
    i seem to recall a video on the "best" range to set, something like 79 to 150, or something very specific to prevent things like DnB from being detected at half the actual BPM, but i couldnt find it the last time i looked.

    whats your recommendation?
    [ 17" 2010 MBP ][ Mixcloud ][ CompleteJ ][ Soundcloud ][ Traktor Kontrol S4 ]

  10. #10
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Set it in a narrow band across the genre you are analysing, e.g house 115-135 bpm, d&b 160-185 bpm. Analyse your tracks, then adjust for the next genre.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •