Adding to the Arsenal...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    35

    Default Adding to the Arsenal...

    Alrite/ here's the deal...
    I've got the Vestex vci-300 and i'm lovin it, the catch is that im lacking in the effects area of my show rite now...
    The question is....

    Should i lean towards the midi-fighter series or a launchpad?

    Remember the whole idea of adding equipement is so that i could diversify my show and i really would like some fresh effects i can start to play with..
    If i get the (midi-fighter or the launchpad) am i still gonna be stuck with the same effects that i'm running right now, less the addition of some fresh cue points? or would i need to download additional programs ext.... ?

    Any pro's or cons the idea are appreciated

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    317

    Default

    On a related note, can I use a LPD8 to control effects with a VCI-300?

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sepdanger View Post
    Alrite/ here's the deal...
    I've got the Vestex vci-300 and i'm lovin it, the catch is that im lacking in the effects area of my show rite now...
    The question is....

    Should i lean towards the midi-fighter series or a launchpad?

    Remember the whole idea of adding equipement is so that i could diversify my show and i really would like some fresh effects i can start to play with..
    If i get the (midi-fighter or the launchpad) am i still gonna be stuck with the same effects that i'm running right now, less the addition of some fresh cue points? or would i need to download additional programs ext.... ?

    Any pro's or cons the idea are appreciated

    Cheers
    As you have a VCI-300, i'm guessing you're using ITCH. As far as i know, ITCH doesn't have many effects. And getting another controller won't enable you to get anymore from the program.

    I know some people are working on a Traktor Pro mapping for the VCI-300, so it might be worth waiting for that to come out so you can use all the effects in Traktors effects bank.
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Str8upDrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sepdanger View Post
    am i still gonna be stuck with the same effects that i'm running right now, less the addition of some fresh cue points?
    I don't use Itch so i can't help much, but i can answer this.
    Adding more controllers will not add any new effect. All that a controller does is control the software, so you'll still be using the build in effects.

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Doesn't the X1 work with Itch?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    Doesn't the X1 work with Itch?
    Even if it was, that doesn't mean it'll add more effects to the program...
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Vestex vci-300 is excellent.
    I am also loving it.. woooho !

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Liar.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    what program are using. Traktor or Itch



    if your using Itch your only option for effects is the VFX-1. For the price it really doesn't add much. But some is more than none.

    If your using Traktor with your 300 (1. please share your mapping), then I would get an X1. You have a little more diveristy.

    Last option is to get Kaoss Pad.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    35

    Default

    K Well my computer is too old to download traktor so im stuck with itch/ How else could i acquire some effects then?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •