want to start dj-ing

Default want to start dj-ing

hey, im interested in getting into the whole dj thing and just want any recomendations for a begginer's rig. i dont really know where to start as far as gadgets/software/whatever.. uhm, and for style of music, im interested in a very wide range, but i like dub step, some of the more colorfull techno, uhm, i like crystal castles a lot.. and bassnectar's cul.. i have some experience recording, and writing music and im always looking for new sounds, so im def gonna be all over the place as far as genres.
    uhm also, i guess i want to have alot original tracks, as opposed to using others beats.. though id like to use others' as well.. i guess..

search the forums, there are so many threads like this.

i recomend you something like the bcd3000. a cheap controller with soundcard to get started and get to know if this is a thing for you. after a couple month you want to upgrade though..
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

Well... Theres 3 alternatives basically.

Turntables
    CD-Js
    Software/Controller

They all have different pros and cons and it all comes down to own personal preferences really. Im a hardcore software guy. I feel i have much more freedom when mixing with my computer and a controller. For me its the most effective way of mixing. I dont have to burn any cd's or buy any vinyls. If i want any of my knobs to control something completely different i just remap it. I dont have to buy any FX-hardware and my whole setup basically fits in a backpack.

Downsides are that computers will always be computers. They lag, they mess around and are just dicks in general. That is until you buy a laptop solely dedicated to DJing.